Aloe Vera: Liliaceae-the lily family.

Aloe Vera  is a perennial succulent which produces numerous fleshy pointed leaves. It grows very well here and I am on the look out for someone to take an interest in value adding this wonderful plant. My main uses for the gelatinous juice, which is exposed by splitting the leaf, is to combat prickly heat rash along with any other abrasion of the skin.  If I remember to apply the juice before I venture out into the rain forest work areas, or the garden, I usually combat the rash. Also it is a soothing foot and knee balm after a hard day in heavy boots.  I massage the gel into my knees when any pain indicates I have overdone my capabilities.

It is important to remember when extracting the semi-liquid pulp, which contains the gel, to avoid the yellow sap which lines the border with the green leaf.

Many claims have been made for Aloe Vera dating back to BCE when the Egyptians referred to it as the ” Plant of Immortality.”  Alexander the Great carried Aloe plants for battle wounds. In the 17th Century the Spanish carried Aloe along with their bibles as they pushed into the new world. Now it is said, but I can not find any conclusive proof, that Aloe is one of the very few plants that will grow in areas where nuclear testing has taken place.

I recommend trying it on sun burn but with any new application of something you have not tried before, proceed with caution and do your research. These days information is before us so we should use it while we can.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Aloe Vera: Liliaceae-the lily family.

  1. Philippa

    yes – i love the aloe plant.
    i am worried now about the cyclone. I hope and pray that it is not wrecking havoc on you.
    xxx

    Like

  2. Tom

    Hi Don,
    The garden looks great! I’m just letting you know that the ‘spider in the garden’ photo is a female Golden Orb Weaver (Nephila plumipes). You can usually find at least one male hanging around the web, he’s a lot smaller than her, about 5 times smaller, and there can sometimes be 5 of them (the female will usually eat any males that get old or sickly).

    Cheers
    Tom

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.